Seeing new things from the familiar

I was 38 years old before I ventured up Calton Hill. Edinburgh born and bred and it had never crossed my mind to see what was up there. Then along came the photography thing and a dog and suddenly on a day off I found myself walking the hill for the first time on a cracking day in late May in the sun. Since then I’ve been up here dozens of times and photographed every inch of the hill in all conditions and times. With that in mind, this post was about seeing things from there I had previously never noticed, looking deeper into the city and trying to see something new from a familiar viewpoint.

This building is down by the junction of London Road and Regent Road (I think), and what I noticed about this in particular is those pillars, leading out on to a flat roof? Unusual.

Regents Road Pillars

Regents Road Pillars

looking down toward Leith the building in the centre of the frame stood out. It looks derelict and it’s heavily vandalised towards the top of the building but what actually is it? I drove down Leith Walk after leaving here but couldn’t see it?

Derelict in leith

Derelict in leith

I read something the other day about the old tenements at Greenside most of which has been long since demolished but there’s still some left as you can see in this pic. Despite them being clearly visible to the side of the Edinburgh Playhouse I’d never spotted these before.

Greenside Tenements

Greenside Tenements

I’d seen this building loads of times but never actually realised what it was until recently, the HQ of Rockstar Games. Somewhere in there is Grand Theft Auto 5…

Rockstar

Rockstar

This, as far as I can make out is the back end of the Waverleygate building on the corner of Waterloo Place and the North Bridge. Of course the former GPO building these days it’s pretty plush and houses NHS Lothian and Microsoft amongst others. This maze of rooftop walkways is to the rear of the front facade, but what’s it for?

Waverleygate Walkways

Waverleygate Walkways

I didn’t think I’d see anything on Calton Hill itself that was new but there it is. Tucked away below the Nelson Monument is the curious little plaque mainly hidden by the trees, it would be totally hidden in summer. It appears to be a quote from a psalm on it but what’s it all about?

Calton Psalm

Calton Psalm

This entry was posted by realedinburgh2.

Leave a Reply

