An early morning dog walk

Curiously, I found myself in town, on a Saturday morning just after half 9. Not the norm I assure you. Since I was there I took the dog for a wander around Calton Hill figuring it would be fairly quiet at this time and I had an idea for another blog post I wanted to try out. How wrong was I…

First, an introduction. This is Scrappy. He’s 3 years old and a full pedigree Shih Tzu, he goes pretty much everywhere with me and in the summer around here gets his picture taken more by the tourists than the castle does. I kid you not. I’ve had people ask if they can pose with him for a picture of all nationalities.

Scrappy

Scrappy

Like I said, I figured it would be quiet, what I didn’t reckon on was a full coach load of Italian tourists getting tours around the hill. I mean, bus loads in February, in Scotland? Are they mad?

Droves of Italians

Droves of Italians

This wee walloper thought it would be hilarious to run at Scrappy barking. Scrappy just stood and looked at him, I however swiftly told this prick to “get himself tae fuck”, which he did. And this is him in the process of “getting tae fuck”. The world over, no matter the language barrier a broad scots accent and the word “fuck” will always help you get your point across.

Prick

Prick

10 past 10… an ungodly hour on a Saturday to be out and about getting fresh air. I’ve shot the views from Calton to death over the years in more traditional photography styles, these days I like to challenge myself to get something new. Little did I know taking this that not long after the whole area around the Balmoral was shut off as the Britains Got Talent judges are staying there for the Edinburgh auditions at the Festival Theatre. Not that I’d have gone to see them, cannot stand David Walliams or Alesha Dixon.

10 past 10

10 past 10

Despite being the smallest of the 7 Edinburgh hills Calton is fairly high over the city streets, especially on the Leith side. I still reckon the views from the Crags are the better of the views from here though.

Looking down

Looking down

The back end of the Edinburgh Playhouse. Now more of a musical theatre venue than anything else but to me the Playhouse was the scene of dozens upon dozens of heavy metal concerts in the late 80’s. My first time ever in here was Feb 1986 when I saw Motley Crue and over the years have caught most of the major metal bands live in here at some time or another. Metallica, Kiss, Def Leppard, Scorpions, WASP, Bon Jovi, Megadeth, Ozzy, Iron Maiden to name just a few. The SECC is a poor substitute to me, a soulless barn of a place. Just a shame the bands are unlikely to ever come back here again.

Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse

Spotted this on a lamppost as I was leaving the hill this morning. I’ll pass thanks.

Hare Krishna

Hare Krishna

This entry was posted by realedinburgh2.

One thought on “An early morning dog walk

Leave a Reply

